But do you know God?

I have studied several faith paths.  I can talk about Judaism, Hinduism, Islam, New Age, Charismatic, Pentecostal and yes Catholic. I have a lot of head knowledge. I love this stuff  God has also given me the ability to connect dots. It’s awesome.  I know a lot about faith practices, belief systems. I know a lot about God.   BUT at one point in my journey, I had to ask the inevitable –Did I really know God?  I have to say NO. I don’t. I know about Him. I know a little bit about how he operates in our lives.  I know his attributes. I know what he said through scripture.  But I definitely don’t know him. Not with my heart.  Not with full and pure faith.

Genesis Lech Lecha12:1–17:27 is  a reading that we do in they synagogue (did I mention I am Jewish?  More on that later)  The reading is called Lech Lecha. its my most favorite reading in the Bible.  God tells Abraham to “go out –for you” is the literal translation. He tells Abraham to leave everything. Family, home, business and go…where? To a place that I will show you>  That’s it–that’s all the information that Abraham receives.  Can you imagine explaining that to Sarah?  But–He said YES.  You can’t say yes to a crazy directive like that unless your truly know and trust the God who is giving you that directive.  I for sure know that I would not have “Lech Lecha” unless there was a stream of miracles and signs wonders and prophets who fully confirmed what I heard God say.  Abraham KNEW God with his heart.  He didn’t have book knowledge about Him. No scriptures or webinars to tell him who God is. He came from along line of very prosperous idol worshipers. Actually the family business was crafting idols.

Somewhere along the line Abraham believed that there had to be but one God. One creator. Not all these little gods each with his own specialty.  God showed up and Abraham not only became the father of our faith, but he was called the friend of God.

THAT IS WHAT I WANT.  And I know that God prefers that over head knowledge any day.

So in my journey, that became my prayer. Jesus I truly want to know you. If I know you, then I know the father too.  Open the eyes of my heart and let me see you.  And so I had to Lech Lecha.   We all do –I can’t think of an exception.  All of life is a series of Lech Lecha. We go out from childhood to adulthood. Our fist job, marriage, parenthood.  Each time you must go out for yourself.  You can’t go where people think you should  go. You must listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit who is always guiding you –if your heart is open to His messages. You will not have peace if you don’t go out for yourself–if you just follow the crowd.

I started to think about the lives of saints. They knew God.  Really knew God.  They couldn’t become saints and martyrs if Jesus was not real.  This was very important to me because when you are Jewish–Jesus is not someone that we move towards. We are not even able to mention his name.  It took a long time for me to believe.   And truth be told sometimes I still struggle.   But he never lets me down. He shows up in ways that I know can only be Him and he makes my heart melt.   I can only liken it to courtship.

Do I know God? Well, I don’t think anyone can really know God–he’s just so infinite. I know him more and more each day. God is real. Jesus is real.  I hope to  know him as Abraham did.  Maybe he’ll call me his friend. Its all a matter of the heart.

About faithgirl54

I have journeyed all my life looking for God. Winding roads, dead ends, hills and valleys. I found him right where I left him, waiting patiently for me to come home.
This entry was posted in Faith Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

